Off Kilter..

I AM SMARTER THAN YOU THINK

Interesting how much a teacher’s perception of me is opposite to the reality of what truly is. For over a course of weeks, I have been doing my work diligently and actually according to her, I am ahead of most of the other students in my class in terms of getting high grades and such. Yet, she continuously makes sarcastic remarks on my writing style which as you can see clearly has proper diction and minor grammatical errors. She always tells me, “That I need to review: punctuation, subject verb agreement” and a list of other things I personally deem as unnecessary. Comparatively speaking, I KNOW for a FACT I sound like an educated young male maneuvering in a system that is not typically designed for people of my shade to exceed. Rather than ridiculing me, you should actually TAKE THE TIME and digest my writing and compliment my colourful verbiage. I have managed to saturate my self with an array of words that I guarantee most people my age would probably need dictionary to decipher what point I am trying to prove. (As a result it can be sometimes difficult to communicate with peers)

It also seems like she implies I cannot understand English because of my Spanish last name. I noticed whenever she is giving out instructions to the whole class, she calls me by my last name and then repeats what I clearly heard her say to me the first time in short, choppy sentences. I wonder if this happens to any other Latinos or Blacktinos? It is quite annoying. Just thought I let the world know before I become famous that I am an INTELLIGENT HUMAN being and I would like to be treated as such. (Screenshot this paragraph to use as a reference when writing a lengthy article on me in the future) Anyways, thanks for reading! IMG_8038.JPG

Standard

Leave a Reply

